Sear, Simmer & Stir

Life, style & food in the District

Butter, Not Squash

Butter, not squash. That is how I usually feel. But yesterday, I caught an episode of Barefoot Contessa where Ina made a delicious looking butternut squash and pumpkin soup… and so I caved.

Perhaps it was the fall foliage and clear crisp weather, or maybe it was my body screaming for a vitamin-packed meal; whatever it was, I was inspired to conquer a butternut squash soup.

As most of you know, I like (and will eat) almost anything (sorry – beets and olives are still out of the question). Winning over my husband’s taste buds, on the other hand, is a completely different challenge. Let’s just say vegetables are off the table (expect for a few, staple greens)… But we’re working on it 😉 So needless to say, after I decided I was making a butternut squash soup for dinner, I also prepared myself to make Mac & cheese as a back-up option.

But… Surprise! The soup was well received, all around (with a few alterations, of course)! I am pretty sure I added more onion than the recipe called for (since I diced two very large onions) and thus, I added more butter (to sauté the excess onions, of course). I also added some fresh ground nutmeg (my new favorite secret ingredient) and served the dish with (perhaps the star ingredient) parmesan-crusted croutons – I just diced some stale-going bread into cube-sized pieces and pan-fried them in (more) butter, garlic salt and freshly grated parmesan cheese.

So this is a very short post, but I just want to say… I AM NOW A FAN OF BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP! … I can’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow, and I hope you will try this recipe, as well!

XOXO

R

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2011 by in Soup.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

