Sear, Simmer & Stir

Life, style & food in the District

For the Love of the (end of the) Game

Super Bowl Sunday is my favorite day of the year. But unlike most, I love the Super Bowl because it signifies the end of the football season…

I know this sounds so un-American, but being married to a huge sports fan means that my weekend plans are placed on-hold from September through February. For these six months, everything-from mini getaways, to brunch plans and even walks to the dog park-everything is dictated by game times and fantasy drafts.

So the Super Bowl gives me as good of a reason to celebrate as the most die-hard of football fans. And of course, such a celebration is not complete without some luscious eats.

It really irritates me that traditional Super Bowl fare implies a heart-stopping, meat-filled, cheese-covered spread (with a side of cold beer and some chips, no less). Don’t get me wrong, I am a big fan of cheesy dips and wings (I made Alton Brown’s version of wings for our party last year and they were fantastic), but I like to have some other options available for those not wishing for type II diabetes and heart attacks in their 30s – And for those who prefer to drink wine or champagne during the big game (ehh hem – me).

So here are some alternative recipes that are at the topping my list for this year’s game-day feast. These recipes come from a variety of sources, including some of my new favorite food blogs:

White Bean and Artichoke Dip
This simple pureed white bean dip uses artichokes, lemon juice and rosemary to bring the flavor. (I might add a little bit of EVOO, but that is just me.) Serve with cut veggies and baked pita chips!

Creamy Roasted Jalapeño Salsa
This recipe, from Lottie + Doof is simple, fresh and spicy! No holding back here… serve with some Nana Cocina chips!

Portobello Mushrooms Stuffed with Green and Blue
Stuffed mushrooms is a go-to appetizer for any party of mine. They are cheap to buy, easy to make and delicious to consume. What’s not to love? This twist incorporates some sautéed greens and blue cheese – yum!

Mini Pretzel Dogs
It’s not a Super Bowl party without a pig-in-a-blanket. This spin is more wholesome and homemade.

Cheddar, Beer and Mustard Pull Apart Bread
Enough said. (Actually can’t formulate words because my  mouth is watering so intensely…)

Lavender Shortbread Cookies
So natural, so buttery, so divine.

So that about sums up what I hope to eat tomorrow – Now, I just need to narrow down the list, get some good wine and see what I can actually accomplish before kick-off (of the Puppy Bowl, of course).

Happy eating! … And go Pats!

Rachel

2 comments on “For the Love of the (end of the) Game

  1. Hunter Lowe
    February 4, 2012

    I’ll take a Mini Pretzel Dog, please.

  2. AP
    February 4, 2012

    I’m making Beef on Weck…..a western NY favorite bar sandwich. AMA is bring some taco soup.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2012 by in Appetizer.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

