Sear, Simmer & Stir

Life, style & food in the District

The Vegan Diaries

Well hello there, fellow blog readers. Today is the first day of my vegan challenge! Unfortunately, I woke up craving the valentine-colored M&Ms that are in a dish on my counter…. That is when I realized; this may be a bit harder than I anticipated.

And for those of you scratching your heads and reaching for the liturgical calendar…. Yes! I know today is not the first day of Lent! But my “re-set” button doesn’t work on Wednesdays. With busy schedules (DC Fashion Week is keeping me out every night this week!) and one car that can’t be moved after 6 p.m. or we lose our parking spot, we have to prepare for the week on Sundays… So I thought it would be easiest to start today!

My Vegan A[MUSE]ment

These past few weeks, I’ve spent a lot of time researching vegan foods and recipes, and I stumbled across an amazing blog called Vegan Yum Yum. One of the reasons I really like this blog is because it is a very practical “first step” to embracing a vegan diet. The author doesn’t just whip-up raw kale and bland quinoa and expect you to chow down. She provides recipes for everything from vegan sticky buns to lavender shortbread cookies, and of course, some great looking Italian and Asian dishes (both of which, I can’t go without). I have a feeling this blog will be my crutch and my go-to-source for recipe information/inspiration.

Another blog that I can’t stop reading is one that a friend recommended: My New Roots. The photography and the health information in this blog is fantastic. (Really, I feel healthy just my looking at the pictures and reading about the author’s life.) The blog is almost as if Anthropologie and Mother Nature produced a food-blog baby – Yes, it’s that good. The recipes are a bit more complicated (as far as the number of ingredients – she doesn’t use what I normally stock-up with), but I am determined to try a few of them!

After the initial “research phase” (aka: a Pinterest frenzy on my new vegan board), I headed to Whole Foods, armed with a list. I must admit I was really surprised to see that my “vegan” shopping list only deviated slightly from my usual weekly list. I had to add some new items (soy yogurt, vegan cheese, a few extra packs of tofu and Earth Balance spread), but nothing too crazy or too expensive. But then again, I know I will need to make a few extra trips this week for items I forgot or can’t live without. (After my M&M craving this morning, I need to pick-up some vegan chocolate or soy ice cream or something! Maybe I will even bake some vegan cookies!!!)

So – What’s on tap for this week? Well, I’ve sketched out some things I will be munching on:

Breakfast Foods

  • Kashi Go Lean Crunch with Soy Milk
  • Bananas
  • Almond butter on toast
  • Soy cappuccinos (and lots of them!)

Lunch Items

  • Lots of veggies
  • Lentil soup
  • Chick pea salad (chick peas, onion, red and green peppers, lemon, olive oil)
  • Soy yogurt
  • Vegan cheese
  • Baked tofu
  • Grapefruit with honey (I will not be amongst the no-honey eating vegans)

Dinners!

  • Pizza! (My half will be cheeseless, but I will make up for that with lots of veggies and basil)
  • Quinoa with pan-fried tofu and sautéed Swiss chard (something like this: http://bit.ly/9OjBwE)
  • Stir-fry udon noodles (something like this: http://bit.ly/nYOX)

OK kiddos – Off to do some yoga and pray that this “snow storm” that is about to hit DC will keep me from work tomorrow!

Peace, love and vegan hugs!

R

2 comments on “The Vegan Diaries

  1. luminousvegans
    February 19, 2012

    Kudos for sticking to it! And I’ll be sending positive snow vibes your way 🙂

  2. Robyn Walsh (@rolywa)
    February 19, 2012

    Veggie Fried Rice and Temphe from Trader Joe’s with extra veggies all cooked in balsamic vinagrette is delicious too! And their bean burritos and vegetable soup! Add ’em to your plans next week!

    You can also snack on animal crackers, pretzles w/ hummus and granola bars:). Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2012 by in Vegan.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

