Sear, Simmer & Stir

Life, style & food in the District

Sweet and Warm Rosemary Citrus Salad

I am not going to lie. I feel like shit.

Tonight will be my fifth overnight shift in a row in the newsroom, which would not be a problem if my body let me sleep past 11 a.m. But it doesn’t, so I am completely defeated by exhaustion, gray January skies and this damn rent check that I still haven’t dropped off because I just keep forgetting. Plus, I am pretty sure I am still hungover from not even drinking much on New Year’s Eve – Oh the joys of getting old.

Thankfully, Mother Nature is here to provide a much-needed pick-me-up.

This simple citrus salad is just that – super simple and made of citrus. (Rachel Nania)

This simple citrus salad is just that – super simple and made of citrus. (Rachel Nania)

Isn’t it ironic, in a lovely sort-of-way, that the vitamin that helps to ward-off colds and boost your immune system is in season during cold and flu season? Oh, I am so grateful that it is citrus season.

Grapefruits, oranges, tangerines, clementines – they all just taste like one big immune system boost… basically, because they are. That is why this time of year, I look for any way to incorporate citrus into my diet.

This simple citrus salad is just that – super simple and made of citrus. The warm, sweet “dressing” complements the cold tang of the fruit, and the rosemary gives the salad an earthy taste.

Section the citrus and throw it in a bowl. You can use whatever you have and like. In this case, I used red grapefruit. (Rachel Nania)

Section the citrus and throw it in a bowl. You can use whatever you have and like. In this case, I used red grapefruit. (Rachel Nania)

The warm, sweet “dressing” complements the cold tang of the fruit, and the rosemary gives the salad an earthy taste. (Rachel Nania)

The warm, sweet “dressing” complements the cold tang of the fruit, and the rosemary gives the salad an earthy taste. (Rachel Nania)

Here are the basic steps to creating this salad – which can be enjoyed for breakfast, lunch or even dessert:

  • Section the citrus and throw it in a bowl. You can use whatever you have and like. In this case, I used red grapefruit.
  • In a saucepan, warm a few tablespoons of agave or honey on low (depending on how much fruit you are using – I used 4 grapefruit and about 3 tablespoons).
  • Whisk the syrup and keep the heat low so that it does not turn hard.
  • Add some rosemary to the syrup, and continue to whisk until the flavor infuses and the “dressing” is warm-to-hot.
  • Pour the dressing over the fruit, mix and enjoy warm, or refrigerate for later.

Here’s to health, sleep and citrus season!

One comment on “Sweet and Warm Rosemary Citrus Salad

  1. Cynthia Bigrigg
    January 6, 2013

    This sounds amazing. I think I will try it for breakfast or a dessert. I love citrus, and it is a great pick-me-up for gray winter days. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2013 by in Fruit, Sides, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

