Sear, Simmer & Stir

Life, style & food in the District

The Tipsy Vegan – And Fresh Spring Rolls

Fresh spring rolls.

Fresh spring rolls.

Last year for Lent, I decided to go vegan. At the time, the test seemed next to impossible, but I quickly adapted, found some products and recipes I liked and buckled down. (Dare I say I even enjoyed the challenge?)

Sure, some things were missed and some foods were really hard to pass-up, but it was only 40 days. I can do anything for 40 days.

Cilantro, chopped.

Cilantro, chopped.

This year, I took that “badass” mindset a bit too far and declared that I was going vegan and alcohol-free for Lent. My friends, I will have you know that lasted approximately three days. What can I say? I like wine with my tofu.

Lime juice adds a sharp and fresh twist.

Lime juice adds a sharp and fresh twist.

So here I am again — another year, another tipsy vegan on the hunt for some amazing dairy, egg and meat-free recipes. Like last year, I will not deprive myself of sweets or traditional Italian dishes; they will just be modified.

Dress the vegetables with soy sauce, peanut oil, vegetable oil and lime juice.

Dress the vegetables with soy sauce, peanut oil, vegetable oil and lime juice.

First up is one of my favorite things to eat: fresh vegetable spring rolls. This recipe is really pretty easy (especially if you can find the cabbage blend already shredded – like I did). It’s also super light and healthy.

The dressed vegetables. Ready for the spring roll wrappers.

The dressed vegetables. Ready for the spring roll wrappers.

Prepare the spring roll wrappers to instruction.

Prepare the spring roll wrappers to instruction.

Spring roll wrappers.

Spring roll wrappers.

Submerge.

Submerge.

Fill.

Fill.

And roll.

And roll.

It’s pretty simple to whip up some spicy peanut dipping sauce, too, for the rolls. Serve them as an app at your next party, or for a healthy lunch.

Hugs and kisses and vegan wishes.

Vegan Vegetable Spring Rolls

Ingredients

  • ½ lbs shredded vegetables (green cabbage, red cabbage, green onion, kale, carrots)
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, chopped
  • 8 oz mung beans (I decided to use these instead of the traditional cellophane noodles)
  • The juice of 1 lime
  • ½ tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp peanut oil
  • 1 package spring roll wrappers

Dipping Sauce

  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 5 tbsp water
  • Sriracha sauce, to taste

Directions for the Rolls

  1. Put the vegetables and the cilantro in one bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a small mixing bowl, whisk the vegetable oil, the lime juice, the peanut oil and the soy sauce.
  3. Dress the shredded vegetables with the dressing mixture.
  4. Prepare the spring roll wrappers per package instructions. Fill the wrappers will some vegetables. Roll like a burrito.

Directions for the Sauce

  1. Microwave the peanut butter with the water, whisk in a small bowl. Add Sriracha sauce to taste.
  2. Serve and enjoy.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2013 by in Appetizer, Main Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

