Sear, Simmer & Stir

Life, style & food in the District

The Cookies For Which I Can’t Take Credit

All grain, no complain. (Rachel Nania)

All grain, no complain. (Rachel Nania)

OK. So I got a cookbook mailed to me recently, and unlike most of the others, this one looked decent. So I lined up an interview with the authors and decided to “do some research” before the interview date.

Everything in the book, titled Grain Power, looks great. But I am a woman who craves nothing but a cookie in the morning (sorry, steel cut oats). And this cookbook has a cookie recipe — with a twist.

When I saw it, I was instantly tempted.

Today, I prepared for what’s guaranteed to be a long week. That means, I ran a few miles, ran a few errands, cooked, cleaned and did like 20 loads of laundry. Oh yes, and I traveled 50 years in the past.

Back to that cookie for breakfast. I’m not kidding when I say, if I don’t eat a cookie — or a Munchkin, courtesy of Mike Moss — I don’t eat breakfast. So, when a cookie that promised the taste of … well, a cookie  … and the health benefits of natural grains crossed my desk, I couldn’t dismiss it.

And this cookie lives up. Not even exaggerating, Kent is sitting here (on his third), saying, “Man, these cookies are good.”

And while I can’t take credit for the recipe, I can take credit for a modification. Basically because I am cheap.

This recipe calls for millet flour. It was available at Whole Foods, but it was $7. And right across the aisle was actual millet … in bulk … for $1 a pound.

So I decided to dismiss the millet flour and grind the $1 a pound millet in my coffee grinder. Cheap moment, but it paid off in the end.

So here is the recipe. I hope you enjoy your breakfast cookies …

Chocolate Chip Chia Cookies 

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp + 2 tsp ground chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (I used salted butter)
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups of old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup millet flour (this is where I used 1 cup ground millet)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used 1/2 bag … ekk)

Directions:

  • Combine chia and boiling water in a small bowl. Stir with a fork to ensure ground seeds are evenly distributed. Set aside to thicken.
  • Preheat oven to 375. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a large bowl, cream the butter, chia mixture, brown sugar, white sugar, eggs and vanilla.
  • In a separate bowl, mix together the oats, millet, baking soda and salt. Add the butter mixture to the flour mixture and blend until well combined. Then add the chocolate chips.
  • Drop in small spoonfuls onto the baking sheet.
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes (I found it took more like 15). Remove the cookies and allow to cool … before eating them for breakfast.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2014 by in Baked goods, Vegetarian.

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

